Home / News / RUSU Volunteering and Media Nominations 2014

RUSU Volunteering and Media Nominations 2014

The Volunteering and Media Awards give recognition to the hard work of student volunteers at Reading University Students’ Union. The Awards take place on Monday 10th March, at RUSU, 3Sixty. There will be a nominees buffet taking place from 7pm. From 7.30pm doors will be open to all volunteers, media members, and students who wish to support nominees. The Vice Chancellor, Sir David Bell is set to open the evening with a speech at 8pm.

Please RSVP via the Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/729022837115863/?previousaction=join&source=1

The Nominations are as follows:

Best Volunteering Project


Learning Lab

Student Eats

Tea Party

Play Street

Helping Hands


Most Improved Volunteering Project

Helping hands

Learning lab

Student eats

Tea party

Best Fundraising Event

1920s night- RAG

International celebration fayre- challenges abroad Cambodia

Beat it dance show

Muslim society charity week

Speed dating- rag childreach

Help for heroes fayre- emma willis and rosalind wise

Best Project Coordinator

Sophie Purver-Tyrer

Charlie Restick

Victoria Milner

Charlie Mellor and Bethan Thomas

Anja Nielson

Outstanding Commitment To Volunteering

Rosie Thomas

Stephanie Bawo Asor

Archie Maybury

Mina Him

Shermaine Lee

Ella Hawkins

Anne Carpenter

Marta Calix

Chisom Oke-chinda

Sophie Purver-tyrer

Charlie Restick

Victoria Milner

Charlie Mellor And Bethan Thomas

Anja Nielson

Outstanding Commitment To Fundraising

Chloe Bartlett

Phoebe West

Rosanna Batty

Muslim Society

Isabel Gregor Mcgregor

Amelia And Eden

Anja Nielson

Stephanie Austin

Media Stream of the Year

Spark* Newspaper


Junction11 Radio

Best Media Newcomer

Holly Crawford – Junction11

Christopher John LIN – Junction11

Laura Hartle – Junction11

Mike Player  – Junction11

Maddie Wilde – Junction11

Ellen Bing – Junction11

Roisin Boggan – Junction11

Sam Townsend – RU ON TV

Best Print Content

Fashion in Bollywood Movies – Lindsay Coles

Exclusive: Wells Hall site sold  – Katrina Hordern

Vice-Chancellor defends University pay policy – Rhys Williams

Best Radio Content

McBusted Takeover – Matt Hall

Fred Hommel & cohost Dom Simmons – Saturday Night and to the UniPLAY

Entertainment News – Amber Rose’s

Interview with the Fratellis – Heather Evans and Hayley Bromell

Throwback Thursdays with Libs and Linds’ – Lindsay Coles and Liberty Jackson

Junction11’s Noughties Hour with Matt Hall – Matt Hall :

Breakfast Radio  – Ellen Bing, Maddie Wilde

Emily Ball and Emma Bywater Wake up radio show Tuesday morning

Best TV Content

Cinematic Squad – Doctor Who Anniversary Special

Jon Saville – Total Access Sports Videos

Well Done Q

Media Committee Member of the year

Sam Thornton – RU:ON TV

Daniel Mitchell – Spark*

Integration event of the year

Mature Students’ Meeting Point

The Cultural Show

One World Week

Campaign of the Year

Gender Neutral Toilet Campaign

Fossil Free Campaign

‘Let’s Talk Sex’

‘Don’t shut the door on international students’

Campaigner of the Year

Antonia Sales

Caroline Rothschild

Una Markham

Bethany Morton

Outstanding Contribution to Liberation and Representation

Antonia Sales

Una Markham

Five awards will also be given for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Student Media’.   


About Student Activities

Contact us at Student Activities if you have any questions about Student Media or Societies at RUSU - student. activities@rusu.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *