Home / About Us

About Us

The Spark Newspaper is run by a dedicated committee of student volunteers at the University of Reading.

Here are the people behind your community newspaper for 2019/20, with a little information about each of us. If you ever need to get in touch with us, please contact us using the relevant emails below, or click here if you want to write for us or get more involved!

Head Editors

Print Editor: Eden James

Course: BA History (Part 3).

Email: editor.spark@reading.ac.uk

 

Head of Web: Lara Salcan

Course:

Email: onlineeditor@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Deputy Editor: Alex Burrows

Course:

Email: deputyeditor@sparknewspaper.co.uk 

 

Section Editors

News:

Writers’ Facebook Group: The Spark News Group ’19-20

Print News Editor: Eden Eddolls

Course: BA History and English Literature (Part 3).

Online News Editor: Madelyn Morgan

Course: BA Film (Part 2).

 

Email: news@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Entertainment:

Writers’ Facebook Group: The Spark Entertainment Group ’19-20 

Print Entertainment Editor: Lois Plummer

Course: BA English Literature (Part 2).

Online Entertainment Editor: Melissa Hali

Course:

 

Email: entertainment@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Lifestyle:

Writers’ Facebook Group: The Spark Lifestyle Group ’19-20

Print Lifestyle Editor: Elsie Stuart

Course:

Online Lifestyle Editor: Giulia Waddington

Course: BA English Literature with Creative Writing

 

Email: lifestyle@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Sport:

Writers’ Facebook Group: The Spark Sport Group ’19-20

Print Sports Editor: Olivia Reynolds

Course:

Online Sports Editor: VACANT

 

Contact Email: sport@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Sub-Editing Team

Sub-Editor: Priya Khaira

Course: English Literature & Politics (Part 2)

 

Design Team

Spark Designers’ Facebook Group: The Spark Design Group ’19-20

Lead Designer: Xiaomeng Fang

Course: BSc Architecture (Part 2).

Email: design@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Spark Photography Team

Spark Photographers’ Facebook Group: The Spark Photography Group ’19-20

Head of Photography: Annie Davis

Course:

Email: photography@sparknewspaper.co.uk

 

Social Team

Socials and Welfare Rep: Elle Miles