Home / Sport / South Africa Win Rugby World Cup 2019
Rugby by Edgar Pimenta on Unsplash
Rugby by Edgar Pimenta on Unsplash

South Africa Win Rugby World Cup 2019

On Saturday 2nd November South Africa became third-time champions of the Rugby World Cup.

The game started rockily for England – a sub was called on to the pitch at not even 3 minutes in to the match. And then South Africa got their first penalty: Willie le Roux scored the first 3 points for the Sprinkbok team. England went on to get a penalty in the minutes following and even the scores; this was the tale of the first half of the match. The constant evening of the scores, scrums and the amazingly strong South African defence.

Their defence lasted an agonisingly long encounter when England tried to score a try. The defence endured 26 phases without showing any signs of giving. The long minutes in which England was trying to push through proved not enough.

South Africa kept building on their points with penalty scoring from Handre Pollard. The half-time score was 6-12 South Africa.

At 65 minutes South Africa really showed their world-class game. Their first try was scored at this time by Makazole Mapimpi. With England looking less sure, another try was scored for South Africa by Cheslin Kolbe in the minutes following, bringing the score to 12-30. Both manoeuvres demonstrated the absolute skill of the South African team. The game finished with the scores at 12-32.

The live broadcast cut to the engraver at 78 minutes in already carving the words ‘South Africa’ into the trophy. At the end of the game the first black Springbok captain Kolisi lifted that trophy, and no one could argue that his team did not completely out-play England.

About Daisy Hanson


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *