Home / News / RUSU Awards Balls: Sports Awards Shortlist 2018
Photo by Victoria Purcell.

RUSU Awards Balls: Sports Awards Shortlist 2018

April 17th 2018 will see RUSU’s Monterey and Mondial transformed into a glamorous awards night to reward sports members and the committee members who lead them, for all their hard work over the past year. Tickets are just £15 which includes a seat in our transformed venue, dinner, desert and drinks.

Tickets are on sale now, once they are gone they are gone. Please visit the RUSU website to purchase a ticket: https://www.rusu.co.uk/ents/

The awards panel has taken place and the nominations have been short-listed as below.

Sports Club of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Mens Football
Rugby League
Mixed Hockey
Sub Aqua
Wmns Basketball
American Football
Wmns Rugby

 Team of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Wmns Rugby U
Mns Rugby U 1st
Mns Football 1st
Wms Lax
Mens Hockey 3rd
Wmns Table Tennis
American Football
Boat Club
Netball 1st
Sailing 1st
Riding Club A
Mixed Lax
Netball 2nd


Most Improved Club 2018 Shortlist

Wmns Rugby Union
Mixed Hockey
Mens Hockey
Wmns Basketball

 Most Improved Team 2018 Shortlist

Wmns Fencing
Mens Hockey 5th
Wmns Rugby U
Wmns Basketball
Wmns Table Tennis
Riding Club A
Wmns Lax 1st

President of the Year 2018 Shortlist

George Kollias (Basketball)
Connor Maroney (Canoe)
Ellie Burn (Cheerleading)
Maddie Ross (Netball)
Lucy Wright (Athletics)
James Hegarty (American Football)
Jake Brett (Mixed Hockey)
Ed Williams (Football)
Emily Ackland (Hockey)
Ella Povey (Rugby U)
Austin Key (Korfball)
Josh Hurst (Boxing)
Fergus Jones (Hockey)
Rhys Davies (Rugby L)
Vidhu Ravinath (Table Tennis)
Gemma Lane (Trampolining)
David Farr (Badminton)
Tim Stiles (Lacrosse)
Henry Conen (Rugby U)
Will Laird (Sub Aqua)

Committee Member of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Kathryn Heaton (Fencing)
Will Waters (Canoe)
Meg Hopkins (Mixed Hockey)
Melissa Winder (Archery)
Jennifer Stapleton (Netball)
Beth (Canoe)
Manon Jones (Rugby U)
Hayley Burke (Lacrosse)
Tom Sage (Tennis)
Amy Gower (Trampolining)
Victoria Dale (Sailing)
Tim Mackenzie (Hockey)
Tim Greenbank (Mixed Hockey)
Serena Bawden (Riding Club)
Niamh Murray (Korfball)
Jake Wilson – Crown (American Football)
Charlotte Croxford
Fokion Kaldis (Basketball)
Sophie Baker (Cheerleading)
Will Annang (Boxing)
Emma Withers (Cheerleading)

George Lindsey (American Football)

 Captain of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Josh Bull (Rugby L)
Monty Jefferson (Hockey)
Emma Brand (Archery)
Yemi Gdabedo (Netball)
Dom Whitlock (Korfball)
Daniel Patterson (Softball)
Lucy Ryan (Boat)
Hayley Burke (Lacrosse)
Natasha Annis (Basketball)
Harry Dobson (Lacrosse)
Charles Seamark (Lacrosse)
Jemima Clarke (Cheerleading)
Megan Watts (Rugby U)
Emma Freeman (Riding)
Hannah Powesland (Hockey)
Kathryn Heaton (Fencing)
Cam Jaramillo (Canoe)
Rhys Wood (Football)
Emma Blanchford (Table Tennis)
Tania Spicer (Hockey)

MVP (Most Valuable Player) of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Chloe Karea (Lacrosse)
Anna Faoro (Basketball)
Edward Calver (Canoe)
James Hegarty (American Football)
Alice Kirkup (Netball)
Lucy Witts (Riding)
Rob Parnell (Mixed Lacrosse)
Chris Viney (Archery)
Joshua Bull (Rugby League)
Tim Greenbank (Mixed Hockey)
Indy Davies (Canoe)
Natalie Plummer (Athletics)
James Robertson (Polo)
Martin Johns (Canoe)
Harry Dobson (Lacrosse)
Grace Samuel (Tennis)
Catherine (Netball)
Luke Cox (Korfball)
Mike Dawson (Mixed Hockey)
Jody Mann (Football)

Most Dedicated Club 2018 Shortlist

Boat Club
Wmns Rugby Union

Male Sports Personality of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Luke Davey (Korfball)
Fred Ho
Nicolas Jaramillo (Cheerleading)
Luke Keller
Jake Shoer (Canoe)
Harry Dobson (Lacrosse)
Trevor Sham (Table Tennis)
Joe Coleman (Cheerleading)
Mike Dawson (Mixed Hockey)
Monty Jefferson (Hockey)
Charles Seamark (Lacrosse)
Robert Good- Stephenson (Snow)
Andrew Jones (Fencing)
Tristan Johnstone (Mixed Hockey)
Jake Wilson-Crown (American Football)

Female Sports Personality of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Anna Faoro (Wmns Basketball)
Lara Sanderson (Riding)
Ellie Aries (Mixed Hockey)
Emma Blanchford (Table Tennis)
Attorie Bernet – Maloney (Netball)
Charlotte Stricktley (Lacrosse)
Maddie Benton (American Football)
Hannah Woodward (Polo)
Indy Davies (Canoe)
Siska Wright (Netball)
Bryony Martin (Boxing)
Emma Richardson (Lacrosse)
Ruby Morris (Netball)
Rosie Hennessey (Netball)
Annie Sreek (Tennis)

Coach of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Charlotte Booth (Boat Club)
Conen Rowan (Riding Club)
Jo Streuli
Rosie Ross (Polo Club)
Rhys Davies (Wmns Rugby U)
Fiona Stewart (Netball)
Herman Du Preez (Fencing)
Sayeda Islam (Cheerleading)
Tom Fell (Wmns Basketball)
Tom Carson (Hockey)
Rachel Chidgey (Wmns Rugby U)
Amy Gower (Trampolining)

Clown of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Cam Jaramillo (Canoe)
Oliver Hancox (Sailing)
ChiChi (Wmns Lacrosse)
Giorgios Giase (Sub Aqua)
Megan Harris (Cheerleading)
Mike Dawson (Hockey)
James Gerrans (Canoe)
Oliver Atkinson (Hockey)
Lukas Dole (Basketball)
Tabitha Kendrick (Hockey)


About Student Activities

Contact us at Student Activities if you have any questions about Student Media or Societies at RUSU - student. activities@rusu.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *